The Balance of Rest and Work

If you’ve work a job, are a stay at home mom,  or are working on any kind of project or goal and pushing hard towards it, the common advice you might hear is to just “push through it”. As good as advice as that is, I want to suggest another work ethic that you might not hear and that is…take time to rest.

I was looking forward to this vacation for weeks!
I was looking forward to this vacation for weeks!

This past weekend was my hubby and I’s first anniversary. I was soooo excited to be just “going away” for 4 days, to relax on the beach, to enjoy time with him, unplugged, and enjoying each others company.

One year ago, we said " I do".
One year ago, we said ” I do”.

We vowed no work, and though we would “plan” our day, to be flexible and let adventure take us where it will.

Photo booth fun and good books
Photo booth fun and good books

We ended up not only spending time at the pool beach, we explored a pier, found fun places to eat, went to the movies, played glow-in-the-dark mini- golf and explored a muesum, fort and zoo on the way home!. We brought books and games, and also set time aside just to rest. Now, a day later, I’ve been more energized to get up and tackle my little projects and goals. My body feels rested, rejuvenated and reset!

Exploring a local zoo and getting to know our new friend "Natasha"
Exploring a local zoo and getting to know our new friend “Natasha”
Exploring a  local school house museum
Exploring a local school house museum

Now, resting does not have to mean going on vacation, but it does mean taking a break and doing something NON-WORK related, whatever “work” is for you. If you’re a mom I’d highly suggest this! Even just a 10 minute walk with the hubby watching the kids, or a trip to your favorite coffee shop could make all the difference.  It could mean waking up a few minutes before the kids get up and reading or exercising uninterrupted. If you have a crazy project at work, taking 5 minutes away from the computer and stretching, doodling,  and getting away from the screen helps your mind reset. If it’s a school project and your stuck, walk away from it for a few minutes will help.

Watching the Sunrise over the Atlantic
Watching the sunrise over the Atlantic

Taking longer extended rests are beneficial as well. Set aside one day of the week not to work on those projects. For us it’s Sunday. We may go to church, hang out with friends, take a nap, play soccer but no housework or “work”. There’s something to be said about taking that one day NOT to work. College students, I know this is a tough one (been there!) and it is challenging not to try to tackle those huge papers due on Monday. I found that with a little time management and saying “NO” to certain things, even extra hours at work, I was able to give my self that day off. I did not regret it! It was difficult at first, but once I got in the hang of it, I felt less stressed and became MORE productive!

Can I encourage you to make time for REST?

You may Also Like—- Sometimes It’s All You Can Do, and That’s Okay

—- The Soul Monger: Worry

2 thoughts on “The Balance of Rest and Work

Leave a Reply

